Fitness Friday #4

Hello my people. Ha! I feel like Jessie Paege… (one of my favorite youtubers). How are you? I hope you’re having a nice day. I am back at it with another Fitness Friday, and as most of you may know, I am training to be on my high school’s cross country team.

Cross Country is a sport that requires a huge physical commitment. Now I’m no skinny gazelle with a high metabolism… Ha! Ha! No my friends last time I was weighed, I was weighed in at 173lbs. I’m very proud of my body no matter what the number is but when most people hear that I weigh such a high number they are quite surprised.

Cross Country is honestly a killer for me, but I wanted to do it, so I’m doing it. Lots of people don’t think I can do it, including my coach, but it doesn’t matter. I have my great friends and my parents who support me. So this is my Fitness Friday on how to make the cross team.

Disclaimer: I am not at all a expert on this topic, and my methods differ depending on your body when training and preparing for cross when our school starts.

  1. Cut the crap out of your life: You should be eating decently healthy. Personally I believe that it is okay to eat dessert or something every other week or just once in awhile. I mean it’s summer! But it’s also not mission impossible to look up healthy recipes online. A youtuber that I love to watch is Kalyn Nicholson, and in her most recent vlog she discussed how she read that to start or break a habit takes about 60-90 days. So she’s starting he health food challenge where she can only eat whole foods and nothing processed for 60 days. I decided to do it with her. Don’t get me wrong, I’m so gonna eat some processed food while I’m doing it because it’s summer. But I decided I can only do it 5 times… and the challenge ends on August 19th so… Comment bellow if you want me to do a Fitness Friday on healthy recipies that actually taste good. Cross country runners also have to drink more water than free willy. When you’re running long distance you need to be hydrated and you don’t run with a water bottle in your hands. You need to be so hydrated that your pee is not yellow, it’s clear. My friend Andrea and I will always laugh because we’ll be like ‘yo my pee is so clear, like literal cross running pee goals’.
  2. Set a schedule and do it! Most people during summer are lazy, but personally I’m always tired. My dad pays me for working for him by not doing little chores and stuff but by doing actual work, and chores. But by making a workout schedule I stick to it better. I workout twice a day. I do a mile run to warm up then I workout. Then in the evening I come back in, and I run again but this time it is a full endurance run.
  3. How to schedule it: So, our coach told us that we have to be able to run 5 miles before school starts. We will practice during the school year by running 10 miles, and average cross races are 3 miles with huge mountainous inclines. As I said before, I workout twice a day, because that’s what my body needs. I’m already in shape, but now I need to be Cross Country level in shape. Because it’s already mid June I’m supposed to be running 2.75 miles, almost three. The idea of this is that I increase the amount of miles I run every week. So next week I will be running three miles, then on Wednesday 3.50 then on Thursday 3.75 so next week I can run 4 miles then gradually increase once again. I’m usually busy doing stuff, so if I manage to do this I suld be running roughly 7 miles by the time school starts.
  4. Apps that help: I live by these apps for working out and keeping me on track. Nike Plus Training Club. This app has pre made workouts and categories for what you want to do. It tracks what you do, and also has achievements that keeps you motivated all the time. I am doing a four week endurance workout plan. I am on my second or third week now, I forgot. But you can put in what equipment you have, if you want to have runs in, how many times a week you want to work out, and more. I am doing the endurance week to get better for my running. I can change my workout schedule whenever I want, and I normally add recovery days where I have stuff going on. I have tried the whole workout app thing before but this one works it doesn’t feez and its consistent. (It’s also free.) The second app I love is Nike Plus Run Club. I use this to track my runs. It has a setting for indoor treadmill as well as running outside. You can set up the app to have a goal of going for a run for a certain amount of time, or distance, or you can do sprints where you put in the amount of time you want to do sprints for, and it tells you when to sprint or walk. I also like that this app doesn’t glitch, it syncs with the training app, and there’s someone telling you during your run if you’re at your half way point or how close you are and what your numbers are. At the end of the run or workout you put in how much effort you put in, and you can leave notes, I leave notes on my run to motivate me for next time. Even when I’m having recovery days, or not feeling into it I get an alert encouraging me to run.
  5. Inspiration: Inspiration is key and necessary if you’re gonna push yourself through this task. I find that Pinterest is where my inspiration lives. It also lives in my epic playlists that help me survive almost every run (Spotify ispat1000). I also have lots of inspiration from Instagram. Following people like Mackfit, and Pump Up, and seeing the amazing things these people can do really motivates you. Pump Up is another workout app that you can create custom workouts on. I don’t personally enjoy it because it always glitches in the middle of workouts on me, but Pump Up is also it’s own inspirational social media site for fitness.
  6. Cut the crap out of your life part 2: When you are running long distance, you tend to get tempted. Tempted to walk, tempted to stop, tempted to quit. You shouldn’t quit. Your mind starts to become your worst enemy because although everyone on planet Earth depends on music to get through a run, you can’t listen to music and run. You have to be self motivated, and you have to fight the demons that are telling you that you can’t do it. It takes a lot of work. Hell I started listening to everyone who said I couldn’t run, and then I ended up running my first 3.50 miles when this week all I have to run is 2.50 or 2.75. That’s basically running a whole mile ahead of schedule. I’m so much stronger than I think I am and so are you. So don’t give up. As Andrea likes to say “Pain is temporary”. But what really gets me through is “I can do all things through God who gives me strength” and it’s so true so if this is something you want, go for it girl! Never give up.

Cross County is really hard, but so is everything else in life. I told myself I wanted to do this, and so I’m doing it.

Shoutout to Melvin, a close friend of mine that recently told me that he loves my blog and always reads it and genuinely enjoys it. I haven’t seen him in over a year, and him saying that meant the world to me, so thank you love. Also shoutout to everyone that has been liking and subscribing to my blog. This blog means the world to me so I appreciate everyone that likes, comments, and subscribes to be a part of this with me.

Thanks again, and I’ll catch ya on the flip side.

-Issie

2 thoughts on “Fitness Friday #4

Leave a Reply

