Music Monday #2

March 11, 2017

I am way too excited to write this, way too excited.

Hello you beautiful human beings and welcome t my second ever Music Monday. Today I am finally reviewing Ed Sheeran’s new album Divide. I listened to nothing but this album for a few weeks. My top favorite songs are:

  1. “What Do I Know?”
  2. “Galway Girl”
  3. “Barcelona”
  4. “Biba Be Ye Ye”
  5. “Happier”

I can adore every single one of those songs, but you probably wouldn’t read all of that so I am going to review my top five starting from number five, kinda like a countdown.

Note: I have never been a hard core Ed Sheeran fan before this album I’ve only know the songs “Photograph”, “Don’t”, and “Thinking Out Loud” by him. Now I’m willing to say I’m a part of his fandom, and I can’t wait to see where his music goes. I describe him as a sit down play guitar, and sing kind of performer but you need one of those in your life.

5. “Happier”, this song is one of Ed Sheeran’s signature sad, slow songs, with only him and his guitar. This song is about his ex being with a new man and about how she’s happier with him. He mentions that his friends claim that he will feel that sort of happiness again, but he says he was happier with her. It’s that hard in between time when you have to move on, but you can, and the other person that you cared about so much has already moved on without you. It’s a lovely song, if we’re being honest it sounds a bit like “Stay With Me” by Sam Smith. But I love the sound, it’s peaceful.

4. “Biba Be Ye Ye” I love singing, and it is so hard to sing this title. It sounds and feels very original and as a person that loves to dance, this song makes me want to move. It’s about I don’t know, absolute nonsense. He talks about basically being hungover and not being able to remember what happened last night. I don’t know, I love it. It also talks about how when you’re honest with yourself sometimes life sucks, but that’s okay because when you live, life can be great.

3. “Barcelona” by God I love this song. I cannot listen to this song without dancing, this song is my true weakness. He uses his voice in a different way to create a cool intro, then he just sings about living it up in Barcelona. It’s so upbeat it’s amazing I don’t know what to say. The instrumental has a sax, and I just love sax, sax is like the way to my heart. I have a friend that plays sax but that is besides the point. The best part of the entire song is when this acoustic british male starts speaking spanish. I know I am a gringa, but I can speak spanish very fluently but oh my gosh his spanish speaking is hilarious. I love Ed Sheeran.

2.”Galway Girl” Wow, I, I love this song. It really shows some of his roots, and uses a fiddle, and I loves me some fiddle too. I want to be that Galway girl, damn. I always randomly break into song slinging the intro. I find it funny when he tries to rap, it’s funny with his accent, but I love it. It’s adorable. I listened to him play this song live and it was so good. For a guy playing a fast song with different instruments, it was amazing. He kept up with his rhythm so well with his guitar and his voice. Songs always sound different live, and over video and it was amazing.

1.”What Do I Know?” This song is definitely my favorite. It reminds me of “Castle On the Hill” I didn’t consider that song in the my top five list because it already came out the month before. This song give the best vibes, and shares fantastic value that I think we often forget just love, understanding, positivity. It actually gives me goosebumps when I listen to it. I’ll probably make a Quotes Wednesday out of the chorus.

Comment below what your favorite type of music is, and your current favorite song, if you’re anything like me your favorite song changes a lot.

I could always do a cover video if you would like, I can kinda play guitar, piano, and sing a little.

Catch ya on the flip side!

-Issie